Advice To President & Prime Minister On Appointing Ministries & Ministers

Advice To President & Prime Minister On Appointing Ministries & Ministers
By MuhammedFazl

“If people don't take politics seriously, then they deserve the jokers that rule over them.”
― Jit Sharma

Living under a dictatorship to a promise of a paradise, one aspect that was never lost amongst the masses was hope. While their participation is usually limited to voting in elections, the voters have neither direct control nor the power to influence when Cabinet appointments are made of any victorious government. And looking at our own history of cowardice, a successful protest against appointments made contrary to good governance, would always be a first.

Addressing our immediate concern of appointing the best and the most suitable out of the available lot as cabinet ministers is by no means an easy task. And considering the responsibilities and pressure exerted on both President Sirisena (HE) and Prime Minister Wickremasinghe (RW), I will be generous enough when giving allowances for errors in judgment on their part. Compiling after much deliberations, I hope the following list of my personal choices would be taken into consideration when final decisions are made,

1. Defence – H.E Maithripala Sirisena

2. Environment – Athureliye Rathano Thero

3. Infrastructure Development, Policy Planning, Economic Affairs – PM Ranil Wickremasinghe
a. Deputy – Eran Wickremarathne

4. Finance Ministry - Harsha De Silva

5. Ports & Shipping - Ravi Karunanayake.

6. Aviation – Sujeewa Senasinghe

7. Housing & Samurdhi – Sajith Premadasa
a. Deputy – Ameer Ali

8. Foreign Affairs – Mangala Samaraweera

9. Tourism – Faiszer Musthapha

10. Sports – Arjuna Ranatunga

11. Justice – Wijeyadasa Rajapaksa

12. Labour & Foreign Employment – Rauf Hakeem

13. Speaker – Karu Jayasuriya

14. Science, Technology & Renewable Energy – Patali Champaka Ranawaka

15. Health – Rajitha Senaratne
a. Deputy – A.R.A. Hafeez

16. Education - Mohan Lal Grero

17. Agriculture & Irrigation – Duminda Dissanayake

18. Lands & Highways – Kabir Hashim

19. Power & Petroleum – Malik Samarawickrema

20. Fisheries – John Amarathunga

21. Women & Children – Thalatha Athukorale
a. Deputy - Sudharshini Fernandopulle

22. Transport – Harin Fernando

23. Prisons & Rehabilitation – Ajith Perera

24. Investment Promotion, Trade & Industry – Rishad Bathiudeen

25. Parliamentary Affairs & Local Governments – Chamal Rajapaksa

26. Higher Education – Akila Viraj Kariyawasam

27. National Unity, Human Rights, Counstitutional Law - Swaminathan
a. Deputy – H.M. Navavi
b. State – Jayampathi Wickremaratna

28. Urban Development, Water Supply & Drainage – Daya Gamage

29. Plantations Industries – Lakshman Kiriella

30. Youth & Cultural Affairs – Ranjan Ramanayake
a. Deputy – Hirunika Premachandra

31. Posts & Telecom – Sagala Ratnayaka

32. Livestock Development – P. Harrison

33. Estate, Livelihood Development & Rural Industries – P. Digambaram

34. Mass Media – Gayantha Karunathillaka

35. Religious Affairs & Social Development – Mahinda Samarasinghe
a. Deputy – A.H.M. Fowzie
b. State – V. Radhakrishnan

While additional ministries can be created depending on the requirement, I believe parliamentarians such as Mayantha Dissanayake and Malik Samarawickrema too should be given important portfolios. 

Competent personalities capable of contributing to the country on a national level are the ones who should enter parliament through the National List… or so I used to believe. But browsing through finalized lists, I guess I seriously over-estimated the intentions of upholders of ‘Good Governance’ in both UNP and SLFP camps. A glaring example is the inclusion of Mrs. Anoma Gamage, wife of Daya Gamage. Campaigning against nepotism, under ‘Yaha Palanaya’, one would naturally expect the government not to cave in for powerful figures within the government over what is right. 

Sitting on a volatile political volcano, it is in the best interest of the UNP leader, Mr. Ranil Wickremasinghe to act in consultations with a committee of responsible individuals when making decisions and not in a dictatorial manner. A credible political opposition may stay submerged in the next 5 years or so (hopefully), but the rising of the masses cannot be prevented should there be abuses of power reaching intolerable levels. Hence, let us just hope that decisions are taken in the best interest of the country and not based on individual whims and fancies or contrary to good governance. Foolish voters electing corrupt politicians may not be avoidable, but when the champion of ‘Yaha Palanaya’ himself signs the final list and embraces the very same unsavory characters rejected by the voter, either it translates as political bankruptcy or an indication of a lack of will to change an age-old system.

The above list represents my personal views & choices and hope I have not disappointed any of my friends in the parliament. Having spent countless number of days and hours in compiling it, I could only imagine the herculean task at hand of both President Sirisena and Prime Minister RanilWickremasinghe. While I hope the list can be of some use, I would be more than willing to disclose the real reasons behind each of my decisions should an interested party requests it by mail.

The writer is an independent social/political activist and can be contacted at and through FB (FazlMuhammedNizar)

Add comments..

1 comment:

  1. He was granted the soubriquet " Bapa Perpaduan" (Father of Unity). On 17 July 1981 , he retired from active politics and relinquished his prime minister post due to what was officially stated to be health concerns, however, many believes he was forced out of office by Mahathir. He was succeeded by Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.guarantor loans


Powered by Blogger.